Adventures in Unity – 1.1 Introduction

Official_unity_logo

I ran through a few of the Unity tutorials back in November 2015. With the intention of putting something together straight away – while everything was fresh in my mind – but life, the universe and Christmas got in the way.

While I did manage to keep develop Bit:Shift (uploading to Google Play & Amazon App Store) over the holiday period – Learning Unity was put on the back burner.

By the time I did get back to looking at Unity it was mid-January 2016 & I’d forgotten almost everything.

Rather than go back to the tutorials – which may have been the sensible option – but would have been time-consuming &tedious. I decided to put together a very simple game – something I could make by referencing my existing tutorial code; that would allow me to play with different aspects of unity (game play, GSM, Sound, multi-platform, etc) and which I could expand on over time.

Something which I could potentially develop despite forgetting almost everything I’d learnt the previous year.

Now, the code was going to be horrible – There’s no getting around that – But it would be a project I’d developed from scratch – It would be a start.

screen640x640

[Image from Canabalt]

After I little thought, I settled on a 2.5D endless/infinite runner type game.

I figured this would be a good way to start since so few elements are required: player & platforms.

It can run nicely using simple graphics, I could let Unities built in collision/physics engines handle all the heavy lifting which I worked on trying to understand the development environment & structure.

It also means I don’t need to spend a lot of time designing aspects of the game – I can focus on learning while coding.

All good in theory – Now to see how well that works when I actually try 🙂

 


 

Next post: 1.2 Initial Code

Contents page.

 


 

One Reply to “Adventures in Unity – 1.1 Introduction”

Leave a Reply

